Design Thinking

From PhUSE Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search


Project Overview

Design Thinking is a process that promises to help tackle big ideas in a manageable and structured way. By definition, it is 'a formal method for practical, creative resolution of problems and creation of solutions'. Design thinking methods foster a way of thinking that reframes the problems and solutions we assume we have the answer to. It also puts heavy emphasis on experimentation, iteration, and user feedback to quickly develop solutions that derive maximum benefit for end users and the actual problems they are trying to resolve.

Benefits of employing Design thinking can include: 1) a focus on the User, 2) leveraging collective expertise, 3) employing empathy, 4) creating value by solving real problems.

Design Thinking is universally applicable because the methods are flexible, to may different types of problems encountered in diverse industries. This is relevant to the life sciences realm because the industry and regulatory bodies are fertile ground for identifying solution-based systems and processes that could benefit from thoughtful re-design. Participants in the PhUSE project would be expected to share their experience with relevant examples.

Because not everyone can attend the D.School at Standard University, where design thinking is the core off the curriculum, this project would focus on identifying and collating resources in Design Thinking for consumption by the PhUSE community. Because the actual content is not house by the PhUSE project, this can include resources in many media formats, including, but not limited to: Books, Journal Articles, Podcasts, Webpages, Recordings etc. This will be achieved by curating and organising content into an easy-to-use structure and making it readily available and navigable technology.

Project Leads

Name Role Organization E-mail
Crystal Allard Project Lead FDA Crystal.Allard@fda.hhs.gov
Ian Fleming Project Co-Lead Medidata Ian.Fleming@phuse.eu
Wendy Dobson Project Manager PhUSE Wendy@phuse.eu

Project Members

Name Role Organization E-mail
Alisa Khomyanina Participant IBM khomyanina@us.ibm.com
Caitlin Anderson Participant IBM cmanders@us.ibm.com
Gayathri Kolandaivelu Participant Janssen Research & Development gkrupaka@its.jnj.com
Hemanshu Patel Participant Cytel Hamanshu.Patel@cytel.com
Jesse Jones Participant FDA Jesse.Jones@fda.hhs.gov
Josephine Fong Participant Genentech jfong@gene.com
Lucy Hoch Participant Astrazeneca Lucy.Hoch@astrazeneca.com
Saigovind Chenna Participant Merck Saigovind.Chenna@merck.com
Suhas Sanjee Participant Merck Suhas_Sanjee@merck.com
Seema Nair Participant Bayer Seema.Nair@bayer.com
Shaaz Ansari Participant Genentech Ansari.Shaaz@gene.com
Sascha Ahrweiler Participant Bayer Sascha.Ahrweiler@phuse.eu
Scott Bahlavooni Partipant PhUSE Scott.Bahlavooni@phuse.eu
Steve Wilson Participant FDA steve.wilson.fda@gmail.com
Vannessa Williams Participant FDA Vannessa.Williams@fda.hhs.gov
Todd Case Participant Vertex todd_case@vrtx.com

Project Updates

Provide project updates in this section.
Date: Description of Update

Objectives and Timelines

List proposed project deliverables and timelines.

Objective Timeline
Initialize project and build team 15.03.2018
Gather & Curate Information 01.06.2018
Produce Paper / Posters for EU Connect 2018 01.11.2018

Project Activities

This section can document project activities or serve as a jumping off point to other pages in the project.

Meeting Minutes


Archived Content