Data Science

From PHUSE Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search


Project Overview

According to Google Trends, the word “Data Science” is currently at a peak interest for worldwide searches. Companies like Uber or Amazon have built entire business models using data science methodology. The healthcare sector has also seen new players especially in consumer devices, which increased healthy lifestyles applying advanced analytics methods. Digital medicine outperforms already traditional medicine in terms of yearly growth.

The pharmaceutical industry is also adapting to these new technologies. For example, FDA approved or cleared devices (eg. activity trackers, etc.) are used mainly for exploratory purposes in clinical trials and create huge volumes of data. We can create valuable insights when we connect these new data sources to clinical data and apply Data Science methods like Machine Learning, Deep Learning or Artificial Intelligence.

This project will support people to familiarise with Data Science and all its various branches. We will provide a Data Science training repository, where we will consolidate available training material around topics like Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence, Deep Learning, Quantitative and Advanced Analytics. We will also provide use cases of Data Science in the healthcare sector and we will also look into other industries. A learning path for members of our industry will be provided to dive deeper into the topic of Data Science to educate the future.

Project Leads

Name Role Company Email
Sascha Ahrweiler Project Lead Bayer sascha.ahrweiler@bayer.com
Aldir Medeiros Filho Project Lead Industry aldirmf60@yahoo.com
Wendy Dobson PHUSE Project Manager PHUSE Wendy@phuse.eu

Project Members

Name Role Company Email
Alexander Ullmann Participant Bayer Alexander.Ullman@bayer.com
Amar Mahidadia Participant Bayer amar.mahidadia@bayer.com
Arteid Memaj Participant BMS Arteid.Memaj@bms.com
Chidam Kumar Participant Celgene ckumar@celgene.com
Girish Regmi Participant JNJ Gregmi@its.jnj.com
Hong Qi Participant Merck Hong_Qi@merck.com
Iraj Mohebalian Participant Bayer iraj.mohebalian@bayer.com
Jaishree Alladi Participant JNJ Jalladi@its.jnj.com
Karnika Dalal Participant Bayer karnika.dalal@bayer.com
Katina Manley Participant JNJ kmanley5@its.jnj.com
Mario Widel Participant Independent mhwidel@gmail.com
Meenakshi Thakral Participant JNJ mthakral@its.jnj.com
Murshed Siddick Participant GSK Murshed.x.Siddick@gsk.com
Nicole Thompson Participant Emdserono nicole.thompson@emdserono.com
Nicole Thorne Participant JNJ NThorne@its.jnj.com
Prasanna Murugesan Participant Independent prasanna.murugesan@gmail.com
Sameer Bamnote Participant Cytel sameer.bamnote@cytel.com
Shelley Fordred Participant GSK Shelley.x.Fordred@gsk.com
Sonali Das Participant Novonordisk sxd@novonordisk.com
Sumesh Kalappurakal Participant JNJ skalappu@its.jnj.com
Walter Cedeno Participant JNJ wcedeno@its.jnj.com
Mekhala Acharya Participant Covance Mekhala.Acharya@covance.com

Project Updates


Currently calling for volunteers: If you wish to support this project, please email workinggroups@phuse.eu

Objectives and Timelines

Objective Timelines
First draft publicly available digital education repository with various Data Science clusters Nov 2019
PhUSE Paper on Educating for the Future Nov 2019
Learning Path for Data Science Dec 2020