Data Engineering

From PHUSE Wiki
Revision as of 05:49, 26 April 2018 by Laurenwhite (talk | contribs) (Project Members)
Jump to: navigation, search


Project Overview

Huge efficiencies have been made in BioPharma companies over the last few decades, notably in the area of data capture (with moving to eCRFs) business process improvements, and data standardisation efforts by CDISC.

However, the sector is increasingly competing on the basis of their analytical capabilities, which requires a centralised, combined, and, as much as possible, automated data environment to support these deeper insights. It is clear that data is R&D needs a major transformation; it is too siloed, fragmented and manually intensive, to be utilised effectively.

This project will explore how established Data Engineering techniques, successfully deployed in other industries, could be utilised in our industry. From traditional data warehousing; to the arrival of the big data lake; with data marketplaces; ePRO and IoT; the challenge is on – to identify analytical value from all of these disparate data sources.

The aims of this project are two-fold. Firstly, to gather the myriad resources available on traditional methods of data engineering, to provide a breadth of knowledge that could immediately bring benefit to our existing clinical data estate. This will be achieved by curating and organising content into an easy-to-use structure (such as Wiki).

Secondly, to prepare us for the “big data tsunami” which is to arrive shortly in our sector, so that we can learn about the more thought-leading subjects in this area and help disseminate and share this information with the Data Science & AI/Machine Learning co-projects – a natural fit for these new types of data analysis – alongside the more tradition methods on the PhUSE Wiki.

Project Leads

Guy Garrett Project Co-Lead Achieve Intelligence guy.garrett@achieveintelligence.com
Bev Hayes Project Co-Lead JNJ bhayes2@its.jnj.com
Wendy Dobson Project Co-ordinator PhUSE wendy@phuse.eu

Project Members

Amy Gillespie Participant Merck Amy_Gillespie@merck.com
Beate Hientzsch Participant HMS Beate.Hientzsch@analytical-software.de
Jagdev Bhogal Participant BCU Jagdev.Bhogal@bcu.ac.uk
Mike Carniello Participant Astellas michael.carniello@astellas.com
Mark Bynens Participant JNJ Mbynens@its.jnj.com
Paul Slagle Participant Inventiv Health Paul.Slagle@inventivhealth.com
Sascha Ahrweiler Participant Bayer Sascha.Ahrweiler@phuse.eu
Shazz Ansari Participant Gene shazz.ansari@gene.com
Vince Marinelli Participant MDSOL Vmarinelli@mdsol.com
Vijay Pasapula Participant Gilead vijay.pasapula@gilead.com

Project Updates

Provide project updates in this section.
Date: Description of Update

Objectives and Timelines

List proposed project deliverables and timelines.

Produce papers/Posters for EU Connect|| 01 November 2018
Initialize project & build team 01 Febuary 2018
Pick initial topic areas 01 March 2018
Gather & curate information 01 June 2018

Project Activities

This section can document project activities or serve as a jumping off point to other pages in the project.

Meeting Minutes


Archived Content